Le contenu

J. S Bach 1685 – 1750 & C.P.E Bach 1714 - 1788

Bach, from the Abyss to the Light

7 July 2024 • 21h Notre-Dame Basilica

In December 2021, Laurence Equilbey presented a series of concerts dedicated to Johann Sebastian Bach’s Christmas Oratorio. Leading her two ensembles, Insula Orchestra and Accentus, along with three soloists, she continues to explore this iconic repertoire with a new program centered around Bach’s great cantatas and motets.

This program offers a spiritual journey, delving into the contrast between human despair and trust in the Almighty. The cantata “Aus der Tiefen ruf ich zu Dir” (From the Depths I Cry to You) is considered the first Bach composed in 1707, already showcasing the creator’s skill in combining virtuosity, profound thought, and instrumental richness. The heart-wrenching text is drawn from Psalm 130, echoed by the extraordinary eight-voice motet “Komm, Jesu, komm“.

A few years later in 1723, Bach was appointed to Leipzig, a city he would not leave until his death. There, he composed his brightest cantata, “Alles nur nach Gottes Willen” (All According to God’s Will), extending the “Jesu meine Freude” (Jesus, My Joy). 

The cantata “Heilig” (Holy) by Bach’s son, Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach, is a spectacular, spatialized work with a solo alto, two choirs, and two orchestras. It will conclude this program, enveloping the audience in a celestial and magnificent atmosphere.


Accentus & Insula Orchestra / Conductor : Laurence Equilbey

Emmanuelle de Negri, soprano
Rose Naggar-Tremblay, alto
Gwilym Bowen, tenor
Victor Sicard, baritone

Our partners

Le pied de page